One More Tip to S.T.E.A.M. Up Your Next Solar System Unit

Today, I had the privilege of being a guest blogger for Rachel Lynette’s blog, ‘Minds in Bloom.’  If you haven’t had a chance to read my post ‘3 Tips to S.T.E.A.M. Up Your Next Solar System Unit,’ make sure to do so by clicking on the image below.

facebook STEAM space

              Now, to celebrate being asked to be a part of ‘Minds in Bloom,’ I’ve decided to provide an additional tip to help you ‘S.T.E.A.M. Up Your Next Solar System Unit!’

space heading4

              I’ve often seen primary teachers use shaving cream to teach sight words.  They read off a word and the student uses their finger to write the word in the shaving cream.  When it is time for a new word, the student simply rubs over the previous word and they have a blank slate for writing.  I’ve always thought it was such a fun idea but it does not work very well with the ‘Word Study’ program I have to use for my upper elementary students.  I have been trying to determine what a good unit would be for incorporating a shaving cream activity.  Recently, it hit me… moon phases!

Use the shaving cream the same way it is used for primary students, except call out moon phases instead of sight words.  Often times, my students will have the moon phases memorized in order but if a phase is randomly selected, they have trouble remembering what it looks like.  So, the moon phase shaving cream activity is a great way to have students practice drawing the phases of the moon at random.  I haven’t met a student, big or small, who doesn’t enjoy playing with shaving cream and I know my upper elementary students will have a blast with this kinesthetic activity!

moon phases with shaving creamJPEG

               To see my first three tips, don’t forget to check out my post on ‘Minds in Bloom’ and for even more solar system ideas check out my solar system unit by clicking the image below.  Inside you will everything you need to teach the solar system!  I also have planet task cards in my store that are great for science centers.

solar system

planet

**Clip art by: Educlips & Winchester Lambourne

Leave a Reply

